University for a Night 2012

University for a Night 2012 brought together more than 300 participants from more than 20 countries to share ideas and inspiration about systemic solutions to poverty and other complex problems.

Following an opening reception, the evening began with presentation of the David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Award to President Bill Clinton, Founder of the William J. Clinton Foundation and 42nd President of the United States. President Clinton then delivered remarks (see video highlights).

Following a musical performance by Michael Quattrone and Krista Smith, Synergos’ Founder Peggy Dulany shared her perspectives on Synergos’ work and why that work is important. She used the ocassion to announce the launch of a 25th Anniversary Campaign, which she will Chair (see video/read remarks) together with Kim Samuel-Johnson. David Rockefeller and John C. Whitehead have agreed to serve as Honorary Co-Chairs of this campaign.

Peggy also shared with participants a paper, Approaching the Heart of the Matter, on her experience and learning in Synergos’ first 25 years (download paper).

University for a Night concluded with table discussions led by our Distinguished Faculty -- leaders and experts from around the world the world.

We thank all participants, sponsors and supporters, President Clinton, and David Rockefeller for helping make the event a success.

Learn More

Major Synergos Sponsors


Carlos and Natalia Bulgheroni


David Rockefeller
Kim Samuel-Johnson

Rockefeller Foundation


Alberto and Tere Baillères
Mr. and Mrs. Othman Benjelloun
Charles Butt
Dorian Goldman and Marvin Israelow
Vincent and Anne Mai
Josh Mailman and Monica Winsor
Carlos and Gabriela Rodríguez-Pastor
Michael Sonnenfeldt and Katja Goldman

Walk Free - The Movement to End Human Slavery
Robert Yang


Edward and Sharon Bergman
Stanley and Marion Bergman
William Bohnett
Amy and Ed Brakeman
Raymond Chambers and the MCJ Amelior Foundation
Petr Chitipakhovyan
Mannheim, LLC

Abby O’Neill
Open Society Foundations
Diana and Jonathan Rose
John C. Whitehead
Rockefeller Financial


Laura Chen
Mimi and Peter Haas Fund
Michael and Brigitte Rennie
Robert C. L. Timpson Jr.

David Bohnett Foundation
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Synergos 25th Anniversay Celebration & Reflection