Synergos: University for a Night


Each year, University for a Night participants honor a person and/or organization that exemplify what the evening stands for -- working together for the common good. The first such honoree was David Rockefeller, for whom this award is named. He and Kofi Annan, the United Nations-Secretary General presented the 2006 David Rockefeller Bridging Leadership Awards to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Ted Turner. Text of the awards presentation is available.

Working together with others -- creating effective partnerships -- has been at the center of my business career and all of my civic involvements. I believe it is the only realistic way to achieve positive and enduring change.
-- David Rockefeller at University for a Night 2003

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
AP Photo

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President of Liberia
The first woman elected head of state in Africa, Mrs. Johnson Sirleaf has served her country as a democracy activist and as Minister of Finance. During time in exile from Liberia she held a variety of positions in banking and international development, including at the World Bank, at Citibank and as Director of the United Nations Development Programme's Regional Bureau for Africa. She is a Founding Member of the International Institute for Women in Political Leadership and a former member of Synergos' Board of Directors.


David Rockefeller and Ted Turner

Ted Turner, Founder and Chairman, the United Nations Foundation
Philanthropist Ted Turner created the UN Foundation in 1998 with his historic gift in support of the United Nations. He has said that his gift is an "investment in the future of humanity." An entrepreneur and environmentalist, he is Chairman of Turner Enterprises, Inc. former Vice Chairman of Time Warner (the world's leading media company) and the founder of CNN. In addition to the UN Foundation, Mr. Turner established the Nuclear Threat Initiative, the Goodwill Games and the Turner Foundation.

Past Honorees

Positions listed are those held at time of event

Corazon C. Aquino, Chairperson, Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. Foundation and former President of the Philippines
James D. Wolfensohn, Special Envoy for Gaza Disengagement and former President of the World Bank

John C. Whitehead, Chairman of the Board, Lower Manhattan Development Corporation
Foundation for Community Development of Mozambique

David Rockefeller