University for a Night 2005

An Evening of Discussion for Action

Leaders and institutions across the world are being called to launch new action to reduce unacceptable levels of poverty and human suffering, reverse severe environmental degradation and overcome wrenching dislocations and fragmentation within and between societies.

University for a Night 2005 brought together 420 people to explore ways in which to overcome these challenges, building upon positive connections between ourselves, our organizations and our countries.

The core of the evening was focused discussions on specific topics that built upon the opening plenary. These discussions, held over dinner, were led by our plenary speakers and 70 other Distinguished Faculty -- leaders from around the world with particular knowledge and experience to share.

We also use the occassion to honor two individuals who have helped bring together disparate parts of society to address critical issues of the day. This year's recipients of the David Rockefeller Award for Bridging Leadership were:

  • Corazon C. Aquino
    Former President of the Philippines
    Chairperson, Benigno S. Aquino, Jr. Foundation
  • James D. Wolfensohn
    Former President, The World Bank
    Special Envoy for Gaza Disengagement for the Quartet Principals

Mrs. Aquino and Mr. Wolfensohn were joined in the plenary discussion by:

  • Hafsat Abiola-Costello
    Founder and Executive Director, Kudirat Initiative for Democracy
  • Robert H. Dunn
    Co-founder, Business for Social Responsibility
    Incoming President and CEO, The Synergos Institute
  • Surakiart Sathirathai
    Deputy Prime Minister, Royal Thai Government

J.P. Morgan Chase & Co. is the Founding Sponsor of University for a Night. Instituto Rukha is the Event Underwriter.

To learn more, please contact us.